Pages

Thursday, April 25, 2013

TBR Thursday:The Ward & The Program

The Ward
Sixteen-year-old Ren is a daredevil mobile racer who will risk everything to survive in the Ward, what remains of a water-logged Manhattan. To save her sister, who is suffering from a deadly illness thought to be caused by years of pollution, Ren accepts a secret mission from the government: to search for a freshwater source in the Ward, with the hope of it leading to a cure.

However, she never expects that her search will lead to dangerous encounters with a passionate young scientist; a web of deceit and lies; and an earth-shattering mystery that’s lurking deep beneath the water’s rippling surface.

Jordana Frankel’s ambitious debut novel and the first in a two-book series, The Ward is arresting, cinematic, and thrilling—perfect for fans of Scott Westerfeld or Ann Aguirre.(taken from Goodreads)


That ending right there? Fans of those two amazing authors...that means me. And this sounds so good!!!! I can't wait to read this debut and I'm definitely expecting something from it. Like adventure and a great world. Like really enjoyable dystopian world that I won't be able to get enough of. Judging by the cover anyway :) This book releases the 30th of April.
The Program (The Program, #1)
 In Sloane’s world, true feelings are forbidden, teen suicide is an epidemic, and the only solution is The Program.

Sloane knows better than to cry in front of anyone. With suicide now an international epidemic, one outburst could land her in The Program, the only proven course of treatment. Sloane’s parents have already lost one child; Sloane knows they’ll do anything to keep her alive. She also knows that everyone who’s been through The Program returns as a blank slate. Because their depression is gone—but so are their memories.

Under constant surveillance at home and at school, Sloane puts on a brave face and keeps her feelings buried as deep as she can. The only person Sloane can be herself with is James. He’s promised to keep them both safe and out of treatment, and Sloane knows their love is strong enough to withstand anything. But despite the promises they made to each other, it’s getting harder to hide the truth. They are both growing weaker. Depression is setting in. And The Program is coming for them.
(taken from Goodreads)

This one had just interested me.  It sounds so cool and agghhh! Just good :D The cover is intriguing as well and I'm really excited to try this one out. I've read a couple reviews I think, but I don't know too much about it (yet). It also releases the 30th.

And check out The Hero's Guide to Storming the Castle by Christopher Healy.
Also releasing on the 30th, a great middle grade adventure sure to make you smile, if it's anything like the first book.
Love, Sierra

2 comments:

  1. I'm so excited for both of these, also. I've heard amazing things about The Program and The Ward has a awesome premise :) Great picks!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Yes The Program has seemed to have positive reviews, looking forward to reading both of them!

      Delete

If you have book news or anything!
I'd love to hear about it =)