Pages

Tuesday, September 23, 2014

What I thought Was True by Huntley Fitzpatrick

From the acclaimed author of My Life Next Door comes a swoony summertime romance full of expectation and regret, humor and hard questions.

Gwen Castle has never so badly wanted to say good-bye to her island home till now: the summer her Biggest Mistake Ever, Cassidy Somers, takes a job there as the local yard boy. He's a rich kid from across the bridge in Stony Bay, and she hails from a family of fishermen and housecleaners who keep the island's summer people happy. Gwen worries a life of cleaning houses will be her fate too, but just when it looks like she'll never escape her past—or the island—Gwen's dad gives her some shocking advice. Sparks fly and secret histories unspool as Gwen spends a gorgeous, restless summer struggling to resolve what she thought was true—about the place she lives, the people she loves, and even herself—with what really is.

A magnetic, push-you-pull-me romance with depth, this is for fans of Sarah Dessen, Jenny Han, and Deb Caletti.

Check it out on Goodreads! 3 stars

I really enjoyed Huntley Fitzpatrick's debut novel, My Life Next Door, it was light in some parts, dramatic in others, there were some surprises, and there were great characters. This book was a deeper and had a different vibe than the first book. That's not to say that it wasn't good, I just didn't feel like I got as into this one. The first book had some really great characters. While in this one there were only a hand-full that I really liked. Gwen's little brother was really sweet as was the lady she sits with. Her brother was nice, Cassidy was nice as well and he was so cute with Gwen's younger brother. From what I remember he and Gwen's romance was nice enough. I just found that Gwen's secret and BIG mistake were a little confusing/annoying. The plot was nice enough, not amazing or anything but still good. There were some good scenes and the author had some really nice settings, it was set by the ocean :) But I felt like I didn't connect with it very well and it wasn't as enjoyable as the first book was.
Overall, there were some things I liked and some things that were disappointing. I think this book just mainly didn't strike me as much as the first book did and was a bit disappointing after the first book. I still liked it, I liked the writing style, the setting, and several of the characters. And I will definitely still read the next book she publishes :)

No comments:

Post a Comment

If you have book news or anything!
I'd love to hear about it =)